If you are working offline and you click Send by mistake, you can still prevent the message from being sent. Before going back online, delete the message from your outgoing mailbox.
If you save sent mail, it is saved in the Sent folder. You can also save it in a different location.
By default, messages you send are saved in the Sent folder. You can choose not to save sent messages or to sometimes save messages.